Execute an Update SQL Query on a Kettle Transformation

• Pentaho
  • Kettle
  • Pentaho
  • Pentaho Data Integration PDI
Data Conversion's profile image
Data Conversion posted 01-02-2018 17:05

Hi good people,

I'm new to spoon and I've been using Holowczack's tutorials to get a feel of how PDI works. I have a scenario where I would like to run an update script after a table input and table output job, can anyone assist? I have tried these four but I can't seem to figure out how to make them work.

scripting

Here's the scenario...

Table Input: MySQL Database Table1 (Select * from Table1)

Table Output: Oracle Database (Create Table 1)

(this runs well to completion but then I have to execute the update script manually. I am looking for a way to automate this)

Intended Update Script:

update ods.table1 set colum1='New Value1' where column1='Old Value1'

update ods.table1 set colum1='New Value2' where column1='Old Value2'

Thank you in advance.

#PentahoDataIntegrationPDI
#Kettle
#Pentaho
Data Conversion

You want to use a Job.

Job: Start -> Transformation -> Execute SQL

Where the Transformation looks like:

Table Input -> Table Output

This will allow the Table Output to completely finish before the Execute SQL occurs.

This will also prevent table access deadlocks (Table Output will lock the table for Insert, and the SQL statement will want access to the table too!)

Data Conversion

I used the Execute SQL Script tool. I just added the two update queries separated by a semicolon ;.

I created two transformations. One for the table input and table output and another for the Execute SQL Script Tool. I then created a Kettle Job and placed my query after the table output transformation.

Data Conversion

Hi Kenince,