Pentaho

View Only

MySQL query with simple parameter

• Pentaho
  • Pentaho
Sylvain LE MAT's profile image
Sylvain LE MAT posted 05-19-2018 08:18

Hi Guys,

First, I'm on Pentaho CE 8.0. And I'm not an expert on Pentaho.

The question seems simple but I cannot get it work. I'm trying for a dashboard to use a simple parameter for a WHERE condition in a MySQL query. The Bootstrap layout has 3 columns, one for each component (filter, text, table).

Simple parameter:

Name: salesrep_selection

Property value: mike

Filter component (to select the sales rep):

Name: salesrep_selection_filter

Parameter: salesrep_selection

Values Array: [["mike","Mike"],["paul","Paul"],["peter","Peter"]]

Value as Id: false

Text component: (just to check that the parameter is set up)

Name: selection_show_text

Listeners: ["salesrep_selection"]

Expression: function() {return this.dashboard.getParameterValue("salesrep_selection");}

Table component (customers list by sales rep):

Name: customers_list_table

Listeners: ["salesrep_selection"]

Datasource: customers_list_data

Datasource (MySQL query):

Name: companies_list_data

Jndi: business_datawarehouse

Query: SELECT customerid,customername FROM customers WHERE salesrep=${salesrep_selection}

Parameters: [] (empty)

When I start the dashboard, I get my selection list with the sales reps names. When I choose one, the id is displayed in the text component, but the table remains empty "No data available in table".

If I hard code the condition "WHERE salesrep='mike'", I get the list of customers.

With the parameter "WHERE salesrep=${salesrep_selection}", the MySQL query log shows me that it gets "WHERE salesrep=null". So the parameter is not sent to the query.

I also tried to set up the datasource parameters with [["salesrep_selection","salesrep_selection"]], but the table remains empty "No data available in table", and the MySQL query log shows "WHERE salesrep='salesrep_selection'".