AnsweredAssumed Answered

Thunder 9500 series configuration

Question asked by jes huiz on Jun 14, 2014
Latest reply on Jul 13, 2014 by jes huiz
Branched from an earlier discussion

This is related to a thread i had going about a year ago now. If you like view the old one here: hitachi thunder 9500 series configuration

The place i was working on this originaly for was a local college i was attending, doing internship in their I.T dept, while i was studying networking. I graduated last spring (2013) kept in contact with some of people i worked with there. A while back one of the people told me the admin there decided he didn't want the SAN anymore. Said he said recycle it or give it to me to do whatever with.

Because i graduated in spring was the last i was able to do anything with, and i got some good info after that on the prior thread. So the info in that thread i was unable to use untill now. I tried the cable setup stated in the prior thread, almost got working i think. Howerver on controller 0 (bottom) the 2nd port in (towards the center) from the left i believe Yellow labeled path 1. I'm getting some sort of error code from on the chk LED.

3 SEC off then 5 pulses (red color).

HDD array i have an amber warning light on the fron panel. (Solid amber)

Controller I also have errors on front.
PWR= green, Alarm= red, RDY=off, Warn= fast flash amber color. (Speed is < 1 sec per, i say 1onethousand i can say one then it's back on.)

Also have red Alarm LED on the battery packs, i assue means that there not taking a charge, or something faulty in them. I'm guessing these are just for saving data in cache if something happened. I wouldn't imagine it's something that would stop it from working though, but i don't know for sure. (Date on the batteries apears to be early 2000, so very well could be bad.)